Fusion Server is the heart of the Fusion system. It runs on a computer by itself (usually referred to as the server) and is where all the data is physically stored. It is seldom necessary to concern yourself with Fusion Server as it is designed to continually run without user intervention.
Fusion Server must be running for Fusion Client to work. Fusion Truck will work without Fusion Server running for a time, but it will not be able to sync until Fusion Server is running again.
Except in rare cases, it is best that you don't mess with Fusion Server. The wrong settings can cause issues with performance and data integrity. Even if you are an IT person, please don't play with the settings except under the direction of someone from SSG Fusion. Instead, give us a call and we will either log in and take care of the issue ourselves or give you step-by-step directions to follow.
Task Bar Window
If you do need work on the server, knowing what the options on the Task Bar window will be helpful.
The top portion of the Task Bar window shows helpful information related to the server. At the top you will see the version of Fusion Server that is running. Below that, the IP address of the server is shown in green. This is the IP address that Fusion Truck needs to know in order to sync and which is entered in the Full Sync window. It is also needed if Fusion Client cannot connect automatically for some reason. Below the IP address the name of the feedlot the server is licensed to is shown.
The buttons on the window are described below:
- Developer Options. For developer use only. Requires a password for safety.
- Options → Secondary Backup Paths. Opens a the Secondary Backup window for managing secondary backups. See the Backing Up topic for more information.
- Options → Sync Machines. Opens the Sync Machines window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Sync Activity. Opens the Sync Activity window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → CCIA. Opens the CCIA Background Checking window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Inventory Queue. Opens the Inventory Queue window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Upgrade Status. Opens the Upgrade Status window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → License Key. Opens the License Key window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Force Cache Update. Forces Fusion Server to refresh all the master cache items. This should seldom be needed and is also available in Fusion Client at
- Options → Computers. Opens the Computers window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Debug Admin Window. Opens the Debug Admin window. This window is also available in Fusion Client at .
- Options → Send Troubleshooting Info…. Used to send a screenshot and other information about the server computer to SSG Fusion for troubleshooting purposes.
- Options → View Error Log List. Shows a list of internal errors that have been logged for troubleshooting purposes.
- Options → Send Error Logs Now. Fusion sends a list of internal errors that were logged during the day to SSG Fusion each night. This helps us discover bugs sooner than we normally would. This option forces Fusion to send the list right away and is sometimes used during troubleshooting.
- Server Admin Window. If the Server Admin window gets closed, you can reopen it with this button.
- Stop New Connections. Clicking this button will tell Fusion Server to stop accepting connections from Fusion Client and Fusion Truck. This is sometimes used during troubleshooting. If Fusion Client tries to connect or Fusion Truck tries to sync during this time, they will receive an error. Clicking this button again causes Fusion Server to start accepting connections again.
- Message Clients. Opens a window that allows you to send a message and/or a request to quit to all connected clients. When shutting down Fusion Server, you should ensure that all clients are disconnected first. It is best if each client is shut down by the person using it, but this isn't always possible. This window makes it possible to remotely shut down every client. It should be used with care so that unsaved work isn't lost on clients.
- Shutdown Server. Use this button to shut the server down when necessary. This should rarely be needed. Please be familiar with the Shutting Fusion Server Down video before shutting down the server.
Server Admin Window
This window is not documented as it should only be used by or under the direction of SSG Fusion staff.
Information about how to set a server computer up is available in the Fusion Resource Guide. If you are an IT person it will be critical that you set the computer up as outlined in this guide.